This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
AAV/Lafeber Manuscript Awards

The Journal of Avian Medicine and Surgery is honored to be the leading source for publication of avian clinical reports and original research. In recognition of the important contributions of our authors, this year the Lafeber Company partnered with the AAV to create the AAV/Lafeber Manuscript Awards. The winners were announced at the 2019 ExoticsCon recently held in St. Louis, Missouri.

  • Dr. Brett G. Darrow and his colleagues were the recipients of the 2018-2019 Best Original Research manuscript entitled: Ex Vivo Biomechanical Comparison of Titanium Locking Plate, Stainless Steel Nonlocking Plate, and Tie-in External Fixator Applied by a Dorsal Approach on Ostectomized Humeri of Pigeons (Columba livia)” (JAMS 2019;33(1):29-37).
  • Dr. Rachel M. Baden and her colleagues were the recipients of the 2018-2019 Best Clinical Report entitled: Diagnosis and Treatment of a Swainson’s Toucan (Ramphastos ambiguus swainsonii) with Rhinosinusitis” (JAMS 2019;33(2):155-160).

Members can read these manuscripts via AAV’s E-journal Access page.

The recipient group of authors each received a $500 honorarium which was generously provided by the Lafeber Company. The Journal of Avian Medicine and Surgery publishes over 50 manuscripts and other related special features per year. The manuscript competition was based on an evaluation of all original research and clinical reports published from September 2018 through June 2019. The criteria for evaluation included:

  1. methodology and quality of figures and tables;
  2. strong results and sound conclusions;
  3. contains new information that is not already well documented in the scientific literature; 
  4. originality/novel approach; and
  5. impact/relevancy to the field of avian medicine and surgery.

The selection committee was comprised of the Scientific Editor, Dr. Kathy Quesenberry and the Editor-in-Chief, Dr. James W. Carpenter. Both Kathy and Jim are in different phases of completing their illustrious and long-standing terms of service, and this award was also a wonderful recognition of the important roles they have played in ensuring the publication of quality manuscripts in the journal.

We at the Journal of Avian Medicine and Surgery are always seeking to raise the level of quality publications and invite authors to submit their original work for peer review and publication in our great journal. YOU COULD BE THE NEXT WINNER! Just visit to find out how to submit your work. 

 Special thanks to the Lafeber Company for helping make these awards possible.


Please note: AAV does NOT provide medical information to the public on this site or via phone, email or social media sites. Please visit the find a vet directory to locate a veterinarian in your community.